Bacon Wrapped Pork

So last night my hubby wanted steak. Because of my issues, I have to significantly limit the amount of red meat (short of lamb). Instead, I got a pork chop. As I was at the store, food inspiration hit me. Last weekend I made my nightshade and gluten free barbeque sauce. In order to make this, I had to make a new batch of nightshade and gluten free chili sauce. I still had some left over. So I decided to use some of the chili sauce as a moisturize on the interior layer of the pork and a bacon wrap on the out side. OMG!!!!!!! It was delicious! Even my husband, who rarely tires “my food” if it uses my nightshade and gluten free alternatives thought it was awesome.

Ingredients:

  • Boneless pork chop about 1/2 inch thick
  • 1-1 1/2 Tablespoons of Nightshade and Gluten Free Chili Sauce (depending on how long / wide the pork chop is), the sauce should be separated
  • 2 Teaspoons of Cilantro
  • 2 teaspoons of Himalayan Pink Sea Salt; separated
  • 1 teaspoon of freshly ground green peppercorn, separated
  • 2 teaspoons of garlic
  • 3 strips of bacon (you may need more if you pork chop is long. You want enough that the bacon fully wraps the entire piece of meat)
  • Toothpicks

Directions:

  • Trim any bones or excessive fat off of the pork
  • spread 1/2 of the chili sauce on one side of the pork chop
  • top the chili sauce with all of the garlic, and 1/2 of the cilantro, 1/2 of the salt, and 1/2 of the green peppercorn
  • roll the pork chop with the sauce side in the center (roll like you would a tortilla)
  • On the exterior of the pork chop roll – spread the remaining chili sauce. Top the sauce with the remaining green peppercorn, cilantro, and salt.
  • Wrap the bacon around the entire pork chop roll until the entire pork chop is covered. Use the toothpicks to secure the bacon and the roll.
  • Grill for about 15 to 20 minutes, or until the center is 145 Fahrenheit.
  • Let the pork chop rest for 5 minutes after grilling before cutting.

This was VERY moist and tasty.  Now – we used charcoal grill so that did give it a special flavor, but a gas grill will also work. The outer layer of bacon may get VERY blackened, but the interior is not and the entire thing tastes AWESOME!

Enjoy!

About thrivingwithpsoriasis

I have lived with Psoriasis for over 10 years. Since 2011 years, I was crippled by Psoriatic Arthritis and Erythema Nodosum - until I went gluten and nightshade free. Now, I reinvent dishes to make them gluten and nightshade free. I also reinvent dishes for friends who have various food allergies or intolerances. If you have a dish you want reinvented, send me an email to thrivingwithpsoriasis@gmail.com include the dish and what foods you have to avoid.
This entry was posted in Gluten Free, nightshade free, Recipe and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment